Property for sale: plots in the Elandsdans Reserve / house in Pinelands
Posted on February 21st, 2007 by Richard Catto 1,644 views
Filed under Property: for sale, Residential property - for sale | Comments Off
WARNING: FNB Phish scam web site
Posted on February 21st, 2007 by Richard Catto 1,925 views
I was spammed the following (quoted) phishing scam email into my gmail inbox:
Dear Customers,
At FNB, we take the security of our online banking users very seriously. We have become aware of renewed attempts to encourage customers to provide their personal details in response to ‘phishing’ emails, and so have decided to improve our online banking security to guarantee maximum fraud-free online banking for our online customers.
We have upgraded our security servers with the up-to-date software machineries which will ensure total risk-free online banking for all our online customers. Due to these upgrades, you might experience difficulties logging into your account at this time, and so we strongly advice that you update your account settings through https://www.f nb.co.za/ as soon as possible.
Please be advised that at FNB, we are committed to protecting the privacy of your personal information so you can safely access your accounts and use our website because your security is our greatest priority.
Sincerely,Security and Privacy Department
FNB Bank
Clicking the "fnb.co.za" link DOES NOT take you to First National Bank’s web site.
If GMAIL is what you use to send and receive and store your email, there is a special Report Phishing option that transmits any email phish scam to Google for them to investigate. They then flag that web site as fraudulent, and in conjunction with the FireFox web browser, anyone going to that site will be very VISIBLY warned that they are on a PHISH SCAM web site.
What is the message in this warning?
- Watch out for this email scam
- Sign up for a gmail account – you no longer need an invite to do this www.gmail.com
- Switch to using FireFox web brower – download it here: www.mozilla.com
Filed under Phish, Scam | No Comments »
WARNING: Google submission scam
Posted on February 20th, 2007 by Richard Catto 1,669 views
GOOGLE SUBMISSION can guarantee the inclusion of your site on the most significant and well-known search engine in the world within less than 15 working days.
The GOOGLE SUBMISSION service costs $199
I received spam from this scammer. Do not be taken in by these assholes. Adding your web site to Google is 100% free! No-one can even guarantee that your site will be added to Google’s index at all, nevermind within a given timeframe.
The scammer set up a paypal account to receive monies. I reported this abuse to Paypal and requested that they freeze his account immediately.
Here is the official Google URL for your to submit your web site:
Submit your web site to Google
Filed under Google, Internet, Internet services, Scam | No Comments »
WebDirect: refurbished brand name laptops
Posted on February 6th, 2007 by Richard Catto 1,549 views
Filed under Computer hardware, WebDirect | Comments Off



